Wednesday, August 28, 2019

AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Provides Proven Framework for Quality Improvement

Earlier this month, the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) announced that five long term and post-acute care providers earned the 2019 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award. The Gold award is the final of three distinct levels possible, and the most prestigious, through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which recognizes organizations nationally that serve as models of excellence in providing high-quality care. 

The 2019 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients are:
  • Christian Health Care Center, a skilled nursing and assisted living facility in Wyckoff, New Jersey; 
  • George E. Wahlen Ogden Veteran’s Home, a skilled nursing center in Ogden, Utah;
  • Parker at Stonegate, an assisted living community in Highland Park, New Jersey; 
  • The Villages Rehabilitation and Nursing, a skilled nursing center in Lady Lake, Florida; and  
  • Vista Pacifica Convalescent, a skilled nursing center in Riverside, California.
The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program challenges member providers to achieve performance excellence through three progressive levels—Bronze, Silver, and Gold – and the 2020 program cycle has already started!

Why should you apply?
  • The program provides a proven framework that organizations can use to make improvements in clinical, quality or other operational outcome areas;
  • Quality Award recipients perform better than the national average on key quality metrics;
  • The program criteria prepares providers for regulatory demands such as CMS’ Quality Assurance/Performance Improvement (QAPI) requirements and the Medicare and Medicaid Requirements of Participation (RoP);
  • The award journey increases staff morale and engagement; and
  • It provides national, external validation of your high quality care and services – the perfect information to share with your consumers, stakeholders and referral partners.
The benefits are endless! Applications for the 2020 cycle are available on the Quality Award website:
Become a Quality Award Examiner
If you’re interested in other ways to get involved, consider becoming an Examiner for the 2020 program cycle. Examiners play a significant role in reviewing Quality Award applications and impacting quality improvement in organizations across the country. Visit to learn more.

No comments:

Post a Comment