Monday, October 1, 2018

National Quality Award Program Update

Erin Prendergast 

The 2019 National Quality Award cycle is underway, and we want you to submit an Intent to Apply (ITA). Submitting an ITA payment allows members to save on their overall application fee and does not require any additional paperwork. To submit your ITA, you can access the Quality Award Portal here.  We encourage applicants to review the applicant packets to learn more about the criteria and other requirements before submitting by the ITA deadline of November 8, 2018.

Application packets for each award level and new resources, including the Gold criteria series, a sample document on reporting measures and comparisons for assisted living applicants, and an updated Silver application and feedback report sample, are now available.  The Quality Award program has also launched a comprehensive, integrated, and web-enabled Consolidated Award Program Solution (CAPS) to support its operations for the 2019 application cycle. This new and improved portal includes:
  • Intent to Apply and Application Payment
  • Application submission: Online application form or uploaded PDF file
  • Examiner application
  • Examiner access to review process materials
  • Pilot testing online review of Bronze applications and selected Silver applications
A great way to learn more about the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award program is to serve as an Examiner. Each year, AHCA/NCAL selects Senior and Master Examiners to review applications at the Silver and Gold levels, respectively. Recruitment is not open for Bronze Examiners. Click here to learn more about becoming a Quality Award Examiner.

Examiner Application Closes:
November 29, 2018

Examiner Selection Notification Date:
December 13, 2018

And finally, this year more than 700 member centers and communities were recognized with a Quality Award, including 531 Bronze, 170 Silver and an elite group of four at the Gold level. The 2018 Gold – Excellence in Quality Award recipients are:
  • Comer Health and Rehabilitation; Comer, Georgia.
  • Holly Heights Nursing Center; Denver, Colorado
  • Maine Veterans Home – Machias; Machias, Maine
  • Sunrise of Gurnee; Gurnee, Illinois 
Maine Veterans Home – Machias and Sunrise of Gurnee are the first freestanding assisted living communities to attain the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award in the history of the program.

For any questions regarding the National Quality Award, please email  

No comments:

Post a Comment