Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Congressional Republicans, Senatorial Democrats Choose Leadership

Drew Thies

Republicans in both the House and Senate confirmed their standing leaders after a Presidential election that expanded Republican control in Washington.

Paul Ryan (R-WI) was chosen to continue leadership of House Republicans as Speaker of the House. Similar votes were cast to continue the terms of Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy and Majority Whip Steve Scalise, the number two and three Republicans in the House.

Senate Republicans held similar elections, continuing Mitch McConnell's (R-KY) control since the party regained control on the chamber in 2014. John Cornyn (R-TX) will continue serving as majority whip.

Senate Democrats also selected their leadership positions, with Chuck Schumer (D-NY) taking over for the retiring Harry Reid (D-NV) as Minority Leader.

Dick Durbin (D-IL) will serve as Democratic party whip and Schumer’s chief deputy, continuing his previous role. Patty Murray (D-WA) will serve as the third-ranking Democrat, forgoing what some thought would be a challenge to Durbin.

House Democrats are slated to hold leadership elections next week on November 30. Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-CA) is running to retain her status against Tim Ryan (D-OH), who is challenging her for the top Democratic post.

No comments:

Post a Comment