Wednesday, April 27, 2016

DOJ Launches Ten Elder Justice Task Forces

Dianne De La Mare

The Department of Justice (DOJ) has launched 10 regional Elder Justice Task Forces, which bring together federal, state and local prosecutors, law enforcement and agencies that provide services to the elderly to coordinate and enhance efforts to pursue nursing centers that provide substandard care to residents. Participants in the regional tasks forces will include the state Medicaid Fraud Control Units (MFCUs), US Attorneys’ offices, HHS, state Adult Protective Services agencies, Long Term Care Ombudsman programs, and various other law enforcement agencies.

The task forces will focus on protecting nursing center residents from serious abuse, neglect, and other harmful care resulting in “grossly substandard care,” by prosecuting individuals and companies involved in such care. These task forces will play an integral role in DOJ’s future investigation and enforcement activities against nursing centers.

AHCA is monitoring this effort carefully, and will continue to keep the membership informed of any new developments. Read the announcement at

No comments:

Post a Comment