Tuesday, September 1, 2015

3 Silver Application Changes You Need to Know

The Silver AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award level is based on the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program and is updated every two years. This year, the criteria has been updated to align with the 2015-2016 Baldrige Health Care Criteria for Performance Excellence. Along with the global criteria change, there are three key changes that Silver applicants need to know:

 - The Silver criteria for 2016 contains more overall items than the 2015 Silver criteria. For instance, category 1.2 has three overall items that applicants must respond to versus two. All applicants must fully read the 2016 Silver application packet before getting started. To accommodate this increase in criteria requirements, the page limit of the application has been increased from 20 to 25 pages.

 - Starting this year, Silver applicants will be required to present results for each of the five results categories: Healthcare and Process Results; Customer-Focused Results; Workforce Focused Results; Leadership, Governance, and/or Survey Results; and Financial and/or Market Results.

 - To achieve the Silver award, applicants will have to meet the Silver Threshold. That is, to be recommended for a Silver award, an applicant must receive a minimum, cumulative of score of 300 points. Additionally, a minimum of 151 of these points must be scored in the process categories (Categories 1-6) and a minimum of 126 of these points must be scored in the results category (Category 7). 

As always, feel free to reach out to Quality Award staff at qualityaward@ahca.org with any questions.

**Important Dates to Know**
Mid-September: Intent to Apply (ITA) process opens
November 19: Intent to Apply deadline
December 7: Applications accepted online
January 28: Bronze, Silver and Gold application deadlines

No comments:

Post a Comment