Friday, July 27, 2012

Go for the Gold!

Is your organization the Michael Phelps or Michelle Kwan of long term care?

As the world’s finest athletes assemble in London for the Olympics opening ceremony, we wanted to remind you about another gathering of the finest – the finest in long term and post-acute care - AHCA/NCAL’s National Quality Award Program.

This program provides a pathway for providers to journey towards performance excellence. Applications are judged by trained examiners who provide feedback on opportunities for improvement to support continuous learning. However, unlike the Olympics, facilities must achieve an award at each level in order to progress to the next level:
  • Bronze – Develop an organizational profile including vision and mission statements, an awareness of their environment and customers’ expectations, and a demonstration of their ability to improve a process.
  • Silver – Demonstrate a higher level of achievement in their quality journey through improved performance and positive outcomes that have evolved from how the facility has embraced the programs criteria and concepts.
  • Gold – Show superior performance over time that is based on their systematic approaches to leadership; strategic planning, focus on customers, measurement, analysis and knowledge management, workforce focus, process management and results.
And while there may not be a medal ceremony with the national anthem playing, award recipients are recognized at AHCA/NCAL’s Annual Convention surrounded by their peers.

Next week starts some exciting opportunities for providers interested in strutting their stuff:

  • August 1 – Silver and Gold applications available online
  • August 1 – Intent to Apply process for 2013 opens
  • November 1 – Intent to Apply process closes
The Quality Awards program helps to provide further incentive and strategy for facilities to improve their level of care in addition to giving valuable recognition and praise.

Go for the Gold and apply!

No comments:

Post a Comment